Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Frequent Departure Time Delays (ex. any flight associated with EWR)

fv5280
Explorer C

I've been flying frequently to EWR from DEN for several months now (2-3 round trips per month over last 12 or so months). I can only honestly recall departing on time twice maybe three times in all the flights from either DEN to EWR or from EWR back to DEN. 

I understand ATC (due to weather, etc.) controls who gets to depart/land where/when. And I understand that safety is a priority, as it should be. 

However, since these delays are common, well-known (now and I'm guessing they've been for years), wouldn't making this info available someway, somehow be of value to flying customers? That is, when someone is booking a flight, I think it could/would be awesomely informative and helpful to know there is only say a 10% chance of departing/landing at the posted times. 

I'm told and understand the FAA requires "times" to be posted (and to some extent controls what can and can’t be posted). Still, I've always found SWA to be a "different" airline, not different for the sake of being, but for serving their customers better than other airlines. I'm wondering if they ever considered helping their customers by posting some form of this “probability” information. Perhaps this data is already available and I'm not aware yet of where it resides. If so, I'd love to learn about it. 

On a related note (perhaps should be a different post), I can't help but wonder too if these "delays" are in some way "avoidable" or at least could be less frequent. That is, if flights to/from EWR are known to be exceptionally frequently delayed, could it be due in part to the way flights are scheduled (linked up)?