Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

mobile boarding pass not working correctly

danfox
Explorer C

I've been flying SWA for 20 years or so now, and like it a lot. Recently, I've noticed that the QR code is not displaying at all, in either Firefox or Chrome. I think that this might coincide with my phone being "improved"with Android version 9. I have a Google Pixel 2 XL. Any ideas?

9 REPLIES 9

Re: mobile boarding pass not working correctly

dfwskier
Aviator A

Hello.

Why would you be using a browser when you could be using the Southwest app for Android?

Downlooad that and I suspect your problem will be solved.

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

@danfox wrote:

I've been flying SWA for 20 years or so now, and like it a lot. Recently, I've noticed that the QR code is not displaying at all, in either Firefox or Chrome. I think that this might coincide with my phone being "improved"with Android version 9. I have a Google Pixel 2 XL. Any ideas?

Is the option still available when you check in to have the boarding pass texted to you?

David

Home airport MDW, frequent visitor to MCO to see the mouse.

elijahbrantley
Aviator A

Yes. From the Android app, you can have it texted to you, emailed to you, or saved to a Google Pay wallet!

-A List, Companion Pass holder

chgoflyer
Aviator A

Note that if you select the option to have the mobile boarding pass sent via text, you actually receive only a link to access the boarding pass, not the actual boarding pass itself. You still need to save the boarding pass to your phone once you've accessed it via the provided link. 

chrisclassic
Explorer C

Understood, but the barcode doesn't render when the link is opened.  Without the rendering, you can't save to photos, Google Pay or anywhere else.  If I forward the text to anybody with a lower version of Andriod it works.  This is an Andriod 9 issue.

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

@chrisclassic wrote: