Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Re: Preboard

ceecee1955
Explorer C

We pre-board and to look at us you would think everything is okay. My husband had a stroke 15 years ago and has cognitive problems and needs extra time. Do not judge people because you cannot "see" a disability.

groop
Explorer C

What gets me are those that need  wheelchair assistance to board the flight, walk off the plane, and easily handle their full-size luggage at the baggage carousel 15 minutes after deplaning.

Yes, there are several travelers who have legitimate needs, but for those that cannot see there are others gaming the system, you're missing it.

I've been flying SWA for over 20 years and it is getting much worse and does nothing but disincentivize  their frequent flyer program by diluting the availability of premium seating 

dfwskier
Aviator A
Solution

@groop wrote:

This topic comes up frequently. The answer is always the same : the Air Carrier Access Act

governs how airlines treat pre-boards. Airlines CANNOT question passengers about the natures of their disabilities. Airlines CANNOT ask for proof of disability.

Yes, some perfectly healthy people game the system, BUT THE AIRLINES CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

spacecoastbill
Frequent Flyer B

The "miracle flight" has Jetway Jesus waiting at the gate to heal them.

All the GAs and FAs know about this, but there i nothing they can do about it.

ffflyer
Frequent Flyer B

SWA can certainly do something about preboard abuse.

Anyone who needs extra time to board the plane should be provided with extra time to exit the plane.

Preboarders seats should be marked and, upon arrival, they should be required to remain in their seats until everyone else leaves the plane.

That would, I expect, cut the number of preboarders in half.

dfwskier
Aviator A

@ffflyer wrote:

SWA can certainly do something about preboard abuse.