Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Southwest sucks

cz7p4q
Explorer B

I am a 61 year old disabled veteran. I have had 5 surgeries and have 3 more in my immediate future, including total hip and knee replacements. I have been flying Southwest exclusively for last 10 years, 8-10 round trips a year. 

That ends today. I have been pulled off consecutive flights from Baltimore to Ontario, CA. and forced to sleep on a wooden bench inside BWI airport twice. 

My reward for getting pulled off yesterday and sleeping on a wooden bench last night was to be booked on a flight departing from gate C13 which is the absolute farthest gate from the Southwest counter. It took me over an hour to walk to the gate. 

Southwest refused to give me a hotel accommodation because it was weather related and they don’t have to accommodate displaced passengers. 

There is what the right thing to do and what you have to do. If I see a child drowning in a pond, I don’t have to help them but I have because it’s the right thing to do. 

I have given 32 years of my life to the US Navy serving and defending this country including Southwest and I didn’t do it because I had to. For Southwest to treat me and others so poorly is inexcusable. And to do it twice on consecutive flights is simply astonishing.

the response from the plane crew was “Then don’t fly Southwest.”  I am taking that advice to heart. 

28 REPLIES 28

Re: Southwest sucks

dfwskier
Aviator A

Hello.

Sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. Anyone experiencing what you did would have been disapponted and frustrated. However, anyone who fly's enough times will run into stuations where flights are cancelled due to weather. It's just the nature of the beast. To have it happen twice is just very bad luck