Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Checking in with infant

PanhiaVwj
Explorer C

So next month will be my first time flying with my 5 month old baby and my husband. I've never been on a plane before so I have a few questions! 

1. Should I get early bird check in? Or should I just go to the counter to check in since I have an infant with me ? (In-lap infant)

2. Does the boarding pass show which group you're in? If so, do I get that at the counter since I want the Family boarding ?

3. What is the process? Like what do you do as soon as you get to the airport? 

I'm new to this flying thing so I have no clue at all 

1 REPLY 1

Re: Checking in with infant

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

@PanhiaVwj wrote:

So next month will be my first time flying with my 5 month old baby and my husband. I've never been on a plane before so I have a few questions! 

1. Should I get early bird check in? Or should I just go to the counter to check in since I have an infant with me ? (In-lap infant)

2. Does the boarding pass show which group you're in? If so, do I get that at the counter since I want the Family boarding ?

3. What is the process? Like what do you do as soon as you get to the airport? 

I'm new to this flying thing so I have no clue at all 

You'll be in great shape, I think this forum will provide some great suggestions for you and if you can just allow a little extra time so that you aren't stressed about the process everything will be fine.

Specifically for your questions:

1. I say "no" - you can board at Family Boarding which is between the A and B groups, you should be able to find seats together at that time. Early Bird might improve your position slightly, but Family Boarding should be sufficient. You'll need to bring a birth certificate or other record to prove the age for your baby since they will be flying as a lap child. You can also call ahead to have the infant added to your reservation.