Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Traveling with daughter that has special medical conditions and 10 month old

SDUONG15
Explorer C

I am going to be traveling to Miami with my family soon and I do not know how to travel with my daughter's medications. She has epilepsy so she has a emergency diastat syringe to administer if she seizes and she also has very severe allergies so she has an EPIPEN as well. I am also unaware of how to board/ get through security with my 10 month old's breast milke bottles and formula. Should I premake formula bottles for the flight or leave them in the powder form in his diaper bag?  Should I place his milk in a certain size bottle for carry on? Also, if we are leaving the country what form of documentation will I need for my 10 month old and my five year old? Sorry so many questions, this is my first time traveling with the kids by airplane.

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Traveling with daughter that has special medical conditions and 10 month old

franktravel
Aviator B

Medication

"We strongly suggest that all medication be packed in carryon luggage. Assistive devices (including medications) needed for a disability do not count toward bag limits (carryon or checked), provided the assistive devices are packed separately from other personal items. If a Customer opts to check assistive devices in his/her luggage, the Customer should inform the Customer Service Agent or Skycap upon checking in that such items are contained inside the checked bag. If a Customer's carryon must be checked because of space constraints, we suggest that the Customer remove the medication from the bag and keep it with him/her.