Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

What if I don't want to fly on a 737 MAX...ever.

Cwithnell
Explorer C

I have been flying SWA for over 25 years.

I collect rapid rewards to use so that I can take more trips. Southwest flies to most places that I want to go. I have been following the news about the 737 MAX with great interest and do not want to ever fly on one. So, my question is, when I book a flight can I see the aircraft type and if a 737 MAX shows up at the gate, can I change my flight?

One of my others bugs with Boeing 737 aircraft is that the seats are too narrow. I understand that it is because of the narrow body of the aircraft. I am not obese by any means, but I am tall with a large frame. The seats are bearable for a flight of 1 to 2 hours but I do not want to spend much more than that time squeezed into a narrow seat. Besides that, my wife, sitting next to me, loses part of her seat width as well. 

I love Southwest Airlines. You make flying fun. Please consider buying other aircraft instead of the MAX.

Thank you. 

4 REPLIES 4

Re: What if I don't want to fly on a 737 MAX...ever.

dfwskier
Aviator A
Solution

Then don't pick a MAX when you make a reservation.

When making a reservation on the flight reservtion page (after inputting depaeture and arrival airports and travel dates), scroll down the list of flights. When you click on each flight number, you'll see what type of aircraft is scheduled to fly the flight. Just don't pick one that is revealed as a MAX.

As far as seat width goes, Southwest is known as having more generous seat room than much of the competition. Try Allegiant, Frontier and Spirit if you want to experience "skinny seats." 

As a matter of fact SW has better room than United, Hawiian, some American flights -- and the exact same room as Delta.  Look for yourself:

https://www.airlinequality.com/info/seat-pitch-guide/

ober7212
Adventurer C