Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Non stop flights cancelled after Jan 5, 2020 (OAK/PVR market)

cdailey4
Explorer C

I tried to book flights in January and there are no non-stop flights listed all through March 6, 2020.  When I called reservations, she had no clue and told me there were never any in which I told her I've been flying this market for 2 years now.  I've searched the website and can't find any details if they are stopping the non-stop flights, all I can find is HOU/PVR non-stop.

Does anyone know if they are actually cancelling NS or if the are still loading flights?

TIA!

9 REPLIES 9

Re: Non stop flights cancelled after Jan 5, 2020 (OAK/PVR market)

dfwskier
Aviator A

I suspect that all changes have been loaded. You could check tomorrow to see whether or not I am wrong.

I suspect you non stops are gone. By next year, SW will be short about 85 planes due to the MAX grounding and a few other things. It has to make hard decisions aobut how to use a fleet that is 85 planes less than it was supposed to have.

When the MAX grounding is lifted, some things that went away are likely to return.

cdailey4
Explorer C

That is what I was suspecting as well, sad because just this year by end of year I'll have flown that market, non-stop 4 times, since the Max 8 issue.  Too bad, I think they're going to loose a lot of business in this market as the planes are always full.  Total bummer as I was working on getting the companion again for 2020...  Oh this sure changes things.  Looks like I'll move onto Alaska Air or United from SFO and pay full price.  

rhodesengr
Explorer C

LAX flight to PVR is gone too. That is a shocker. Also, even with the connection through Denver, they are only going twice a week in High Season

cdailey4
Explorer C

I found Saturdays there are OAK/PVR connect through SAN, perhaps LAX would have the same connectiion.

rhodesengr
Explorer C