Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Current Companion Pass Promotion/reservation question

ErikaS
Explorer C

Hi everyone!

I just emailed SWA with this and got a boilerplate reply that failed to answer my question, so I'm hopeful someone here can help.  And of course the SWA FAQ didn't cover this, either.

I plan to get the latest SWA credit card because of the Companion Pass Promotion.  I am aware that this Companion Pass expires on December 31, 2019.

I've never had a CP so I have no experience with using it.  So my question is: Does CP travel have to occur (or commence or conclude) prior to December 31, 2019?  In other words, can I book a flight with a CP for travel in 2020?

TIA!

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Current Companion Pass Promotion/reservation question

bec102896
Aviator A
Solution

@ErikaS

Your companion pass travel would need to be completed by December 31st and unless you re earn the pass you would need to buy tickets like normal (2 people 2 tickets at normal price) 

Hope this helps

Blake 

ErikaS
Explorer C

Hi Blake,

Yes, that helps.  I did dig through the forum a bit to see how the CP function worked (ie, as long as you are a CP holder you can add the companion later on I believe). 

So to reiterate, if I booked a flight in 2019 for travel after Dec 31, 2019, the option of adding a companion wouldn't be available as my CP wouldn't exist (unless I earned enough miles to get the CP in the traditional sense of course).

And it is for that reason that people talk about buying a companion's ticket with hope of later on converting it to a CP ticket?

Thanks again!

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A
Solution

@ErikaS wrote:

And it is for that reason that people talk about buying a companion's ticket with hope of later on converting it to a CP ticket?

Yes, you are essentially creating a placeholder with the points reservation. @DancingDavidE described it in his reply: