Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Lifetime Awards

WesRB
Explorer C

I have been traveling Southwest for over 20 years. I have been a "premium" customer, currently A List Preferred for as long as the program existed. I have earned Companion Pass for at least 15 straight years. I am - and have been loyal travler to Southwest.

I have come to realize I made a terrible mistake with my loyality. Had I been with Alaska or any of the other major airlines, they would recognize my loyality for Lifetime - at least the A List Preferred status. I have been a Marriott member same time and I am a Titanium for Life!

Southwest just annouced the companion increase for 2020, the change for stand by, and also enticed other premium customers with A List status for switching.

If you are switching or considering this airline for the long term - I would advise against it because they are becoming less customer friendly.

11 REPLIES 11

Re: Lifetime Awards

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

If you're continuing to earn A-List or A-List Preferred status every year, what's the difference between what you are doing now and having it as a lifetime status? Sure, at some point you'll probably stop traveling as much and lose the status and also won't necessarily need the status because you're flying less. With a status as easy to achieve as A-List is I just don't see the need for a lifetime status except for people to claim superiority over others. While you pointed out the "negative" changes to the Rapid Rewards program, you omitted the fact that Rapid Rewards points will now no longer expire or require activity to remain active. That's a great positive change. Lastly, having a lifetime status doesn't prevent other airlines from devaluing that status, something the legacy carriers all continue to do while Southwest has added benefits such as the same day free standby. 

--TheMiddleSeat

WesRB
Explorer C