Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

SWA Special Points Offer is a very bad deal.

smithdp
Explorer C
I got a promotional email from SWA that I was specially chosen to receive a bonus 40% pts when I buy 10,000 pts or more. So I just purchase 18,000 pts and received the 7,200(40%) for $495. I just figured that since SWA was a no nonsense player(TRANSFARENCY) it must be a good limited time offer.  Well now after the fact, I have just gone online to see what the value of 1 SWA point might be. There are multiple sites that have done thorough analysis on point values on all airlines. They are mostly consistent and say 1 SWA point = $.016. So if I do the math correctly 25,200 pts X.016 = $403.20 in value. Please explain to me how this is a "Special Offer" when it appears I lost $90 in this exchange. I feel hoodwinked by a trusted friend.
10 REPLIES 10

Re: SWA Special Points Offer is a very bad deal.

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

smithdp
Explorer C

Sorry, I'm new to this. I did cancel the dulicate post but it never disappeared.....maybe a SWA moderator could help fix this.

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

@smithdp wrote:

Sorry, I'm new to this. I did cancel the dulicate post but it never disappeared.....maybe a SWA moderator could help fix this.

You can also edit it to say "deleted duplicate post" or something, unless people have already started replying then I would leave it, and perhaps put a reply at the bottom to redirecct the conversation to the first thread in order to keep discussion consolidated.

Home airport MDW, frequent visitor to MCO to see the mouse.

dfwskier
Aviator A
Solution

Hello, sorry to hear about your unhappiness.

Southwest called it a bonus offer because with the purchase you would get more points than normal as pasrt of the offer. You DID get your bonus points so  Southwest was not being dishonet with you.