Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Shame on Southwest, no leader in the face of a pandemic

Kimiko23
Explorer B

Shame on you, Southwest Airlines! I am a family medicine physician, on the frontlines of this pandemic. I like millions of Americans had travel plans scheduled during this pandemic. I had plan to take my family to Disneyland, but Disneyland closed their doors understanding the social implications and health and safety concerns. Today I called Southwest to request to cancel our flight. I like my fellow neighbors are practicing social distancing (when I am not working). This pandemic may affect 40-70% of our population and could extend into December. I was told by the representative that because of the type of ticket I purchased I would be given credit to use prior to January 23, 2021. Again this pandemic may still be underway in January,  or we could be dealing with the aftermath. The only other option I was given was to: 1) travel into one of the highest effective areas in the country with my family, 2) suffer a loss of close to $4K or 3) loss $800 by extending out the date we use our credit. The customer service representative mocked by stating that I though Southwest was contributing to the spread of the pandemic, but if they continue to practice as they are, then they most definitely are contributing to it. I challenge you: Join your other corporate allies and consider the greater good!! Until then, shame on you!

12 REPLIES 12

South West Uncompromising Policy to make more money during a crisis

IwillneverflySW
Explorer C

My wife planned a vacation trip to Hawaii in April 2020.  It would have been my daughter's first trip there and 12 years since we visited the islands.  Unfortunately the coronavirus pandemic threw a monkey wrench into everyone's life.  My wife is now freaked out about traveling to the airport and stuck on a plane full of people.