Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Becoming a Pilot

Kriches13
Explorer C

Hello,

I’m currently a unmanned pilot for the Texas National Guard and looking into going into a manned aviation career. I wasn’t sure the best route to go about doing this though. I’ve found ATP but can’t really afford to get a loan through them. I did see that Southwest has a military Destination 225 program, but wasn’t sure if I qualify. I am in college right now, but for an unrelated field and couldn’t figure out how to get info on the cadet route.

As I’m still an Active member of Guard I can’t go too far from Texas for long periods of time, would that be a problem?

I would really love to become a commercial pilot, always have. I would love it if someone would be able to help answer some of my questions or at least point me in the direction of someone who could help me make this dream happen.

thanks

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Becoming a Pilot

adrienneb
Employee
Employee

Hi there, @Kriches13

Thank you so much for your interest in our Destination 225° Program! And thank you for your service in the National Guard! The Destination 225° Program has four pathways: Cadet, University, Military, and Employee. The right pathway for you is dependent on the experience you already have in school and within the military. 

To participate in the university pathway, you must: 
  • Be able to obtain an FAA First-Class Medical Certificate 
  • Have successfully completed your Private Pilots License check ride 
  • Be enrolled in a professional flight degree program under the school of aviation/aeronautics at a university partner, or be a current or former Southwest Airlines Campus Reach Intern  
  • Have completed your freshman year and have your Private Pilots License at the university partner 
  • Have a current and complete log book 
  • Have or be able to obtain a valid passport with the ability to travel in and out of the U.S. 
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalency